top of page

Deel 2 | Humans of Brussels

Iedere inwoner van Brussel heeft een persoonlijk verhaal en een persoonlijk gevoel bij de stad. Waarom kiezen mensen eigenlijk om van Brussel een thuis te maken? Wat vinden ze van de stad en haar diversiteit? In Humans Of Brussels komt een blik op het leven van 6 verschillende immigranten, van diverse generaties aan bod dat alle een antwoord op deze vraag formuleren. Hieronder kan u de laatste 3 delen terugvinden.

 

Dit is het verhaal van Rida, een bijzonder positief ingestelde jongeman van 21, afkomstig uit Soedan.


What brought you to Brussels? Can you tell us the story behind it?

“So, I moved here with my parents because my dad worked at the embassy in Brussels. He has been here since 2007, and during that time I was with my mother in my country Sudan. First I stayed a year and a half in Belgium, but went back to Sudan. And after that, I went back to Belgium and we decided to stay here since the situation in Sudan isn’t really good. There are a lot of problems, the education and the mentality of the people isn’t really good either. So we made the decision to stay in Belgium, and now it’s been around 8 years that I’m living here.”


You live in the city of Brussels, may I ask what you think about the city?

“I think in every city you have good things and bad things. But, we try to focus on the good things. I honestly like Brussels. You should know that when you come from a country where the situation is not really good, where you don’t have the same life as in Belgium … You are happy when you suddenly have the small things.”



Are there any things you don't like?

“Maybe the fact that there are a lot of cars, it makes it really difficult to find a parking spot to park your car. But I think that it's a really nice city like for example you have a lot of different people and that’s really good in my opinion.”


You sure have noticed the diversity in Brussels, do you perceive this as something enjoyable?

“I enjoy this a lot because I feel free when I’m in Brussels, Belgium. I can do what I want, I can wear what I want. For example in Sudan whenever you wear a skinny jeans some people may assume that that guy is gay or that’s is it not a good thing to wear. Here in Brussels you are allowed to be yourself, you can do everything you want. People won’t start judging you in the street and that’s really nice.”


Concerning your group of friends, is it a mix of different nationalities?

“I know Dutch people, Moroccan people, … I try to have diversity in my environment.”

Do you see yourself going back to Sudan, or can you imagine a future in Brussels?

“I think I’m going to stay here. One or two months ago I became Belgian actually. I like Belgium, I like how I live here so I think I’m going to stay here for the rest of my life.”


Do you Facetime with your family who still live in Sudan?

“Yes I do every day. In Sudan if you have money you can do this. In Sudan you are rich or poor, there is no in between. But in Belgium for example you get help from the government in case you don’t have a job or something like that.”

“My dad once lost his job, the Belgian government helped us through giving us money. In Sudan this would never happen. Another example is when you get sick and you go to the hospital, if you don’t have the money to pay for your consultation they will not help you. If you don’t have money you can even die, they don’t feel like it’s their problem. We don’t have health insurance in Sudan. It all makes me even more grateful to be in Belgium and to be able to live this life.”


We already talked about the diversity in Brussels. Do you notice initiatives that stimulate people to get in touch with others who have a different nationality than their own? Or do you perhaps have a suggestion yourself?

“For me personally it was the university which helped me get in touch with others. Whenever I go to the university, I see different people with different nationalities.”


You speak fluent French, did you learn the language in Belgium or could you already speak French before?

“No, I learned French in Belgium. In the beginning it was really hard to manage the language but I kept on working for it. I didn’t want people to say: this guy doesn’t speak real good French. So I did my best to learn French.”


 

We spraken met Francesca, een Italiaanse vrouw van 28 jaar.

Can you tell us a little bit more about why you chose to move to Brussels?

‘I actually arrived in Brussels at the end of November but I chose Brussels because I wanted to have an experience abroad and I tried to send my CV to France, Belgium and Switzerland, in the French part. But I'm really happy that I received a great opportunity here in Brussels. So I am here for my job, but Brussels was the country of my preference. I already met a lot of people here so I'm very happy! I'm a business consultant for one of the big 4 in the technology department. In Italy I also worked for one of the Big 4 for 3 years.’



What do you think of Brussels? What is the best thing about Brussels? What is the worst about Brussels?

‘What I like about Brussels is the level of internationality. It's really really international. If you walk in the streets you can hear the people talking in French, in English in Flemish so it's really nice. I really like this but the part I don't like is the fact that there are too many Italians (laughs), no I'm joking. I came here to improve my French and it's full of Italians, no but that's not the worst part (laughs). Maybe it's too early to say what I don't like, because I am enjoying it a lot so far.’


So is it fair to say that you also really like the diversity of people in Brussels?

‘Yes I like the diversity in Brussels, but there are different groups in the city. They are not all integrated. Even like for the area, you have many different areas. There is the Turkish part, the Chinese part and so on. There is not really an integration yet. Maybe that is something that could improve.’ But for me, I already met French people, Romanian people because I am living with a girl from Romania. I also met a lot of Belgian people, Italians, and Chinese people as well.’


Would you ever go back to Italy?

‘Not at the moment. I don't know, I didn't make a plan of how many years I'll stay in Brussels. But I don't know yet if I will go back to Italy or maybe go to another country. But I think I'm still too new here to know if I want to stay or not.’

Is there something Brussels can do to make the integration of immigrants better?

‘I think the markets in the cities are a good thing to meet people. So I usually go to the market in Flagey. People buy their fruit and vegetables there from Arabic people. And the cheese there is sometimes managed by French or Belgian. I think the fish is managed by Italian so there is a lot of diversity and I think it is really good! Maybe other initiatives the city can do are... maybe organize a tour of the different areas. So that people from a certain area get to know the other areas. Two days ago there was a girl from an Italian group and she posted a new Italian restaurant in Brussels. For me the restaurant was in an unknown part of the city so I should go there and get to know the area. So maybe initiatives where people start telling something from another area that will attract more people. You can also do it with Arabic food for example. So maybe it's good to have an Arabic restaurant or bar in a different area, where there are other nationalities.’


 

Dit is het verhaal van Niels, een Nederlander van 45 die Brussel bijzonder aangenaam vertoeven vindt.


Hoe komt het dat je besloten hebt om van Nederland naar Brussel, België, te verhuizen? Wat is jouw verhaal daarachter?

“Dat begint eigenlijk al lang geleden. Voordat ik één jaar was, ben ik in Tervuren komen wonen met mijn ouders. Hierna ben ik weer teruggekeerd naar Nederland en heb ik ook verschillende ervaringen gehad in het buitenland, zoals in Zuid-Afrika onder meer. Maar uiteindelijk ben ik toch telkens terug in België geëindigd, en ben ik ook niet meer naar Nederland teruggekeerd. Het bevalt me hier eigenlijk beter dan in Nederland. Het leuke hier is dat je een beetje kan doen waar je zin in hebt. Ik heb een aantal jaar in Amsterdam gewoond bijvoorbeeld en daar moet je echt erin passen. Amsterdam is veel conformistischer. Je moet je daar meer aanpassen aan de nationale identiteit.”


Wat vind je van Brussel, zijn er veel positieve aspecten volgens jou of ook negatieve?

“Wel als kind herinner ik me het een vieze stad te vinden. Ik kwam er liever niet, het was allemaal vuil en vervallen. Huizen stonden er te verkrotten en ik vond ze maar lelijk. Het is nog altijd vuil hier en daar, zelfs in Molenbeek is er rotzooi. Het vuil irriteert me wel. Er zijn absoluut gemiste kansen op gebied van stedenbouw en ruimtelijke ordening, maar het is hier toch prettig wonen.”

“Het openbaar vervoer is overigens wel steeds beter geworden, wat ik heel goed vind. Ik heb en wil ook geen auto in Brussel. Ik maak graag gebruik van het openbaar vervoer. Een ander positief aspect is dat het hier een mix van allerlei mensen is.”


Zie je de diversiteit in Brussel als iets positief?

“Absoluut. Ik vond Amsterdam bijvoorbeeld te weinig divers. Je moest je daar echt aanpassen aan hoe Amsterdam en Nederland is. Ik hoop niet dat dat hier in Brussel gaat gebeuren.”


Wanneer je kijkt naar je eigen vriendenkring, is dit een diverse groep?

“Die is wel redelijk divers. Ik zit hier in Molenbeek in het buurtcomité en daar zit bijvoorbeeld ook een Zuid-Afrikaanse vrouw tussen. Ik zit ook nog in een andere groep waar ik ook in contact kom met Duitsers, Fransen, Vlamingen, … Redelijk divers dus in ieder geval.”


Heb je zelf een idee van een initiatief in Brussel dat ervoor kan zorgen dat verschillende nationaliteiten met elkaar in contact komen?

“Nou, een openluchtzwembad mag hier absoluut eens komen. Ik vind een goede kwaliteit van openbare ruimte heel belangrijk. Ik ben bijvoorbeeld zeer tevreden met Elke Van den Brandt, onder meer minister van mobiliteit in Brussel. Ze wil de auto’s een beetje bannen. Ik vind echt dat de openbare ruimte in Brussel vooruit moet en dat de auto een stap terug hoort te doen. De openbare ruimte moet er zijn voor iedereen: fietsers, wandelaars, kinderen, … Maar wel minder voor de auto.”


Je gelooft dus wel dat zo’n openluchtzwembad verschillende nationaliteiten in Brussel bij elkaar kan brengen?

“Ja, het moet natuurlijk een flink groot zwembad of zwemmeer zijn. Er is echt een nood hier aan. Eigenlijk moet er gewoon een goed openbare ruimte project komen, waar iedereen zich in kan vinden. Het hoeft niet perse een openluchtzwembad te zijn maar wel een ruimte die aan iedereen, behalve aan de auto ruimte geeft”


bottom of page